For those of you fellow children of the 80’s who even vaguely remember ThunderCats, I salute you. And I’d like to let you know that Season 1, Part 1 of Thundercats is coming to DVD with a release date of July 12, 2011.

Warner Home Video is releasing ThunderCats: The Original Series Season 1 Part 1 just in time for the release of a brand new series premiere on Cartoon Network. This DVD package comes with 2-discs, with a retail price of $19.97. You’ll get 12 episodes (listed below) as well as a DVD special caleld “Feel the Magic, Hear the Roar” where fans talk about how much they love this series. I’m sure plenty of you will relate to what they have to say.

Even though I haven’t grown up to collect any ThunderCats action figures or other collectibles, I fondly remember declaring that I was Cheetara to my friends on the schoolyard.  (Not that there was much of a choice, since she was the only female ThunderCat!)

I suspect that this marketing campaign is one that we see around a lot, there are reboots of the things we love from the latest Alvin and the Chipmunks movies to the Smurfs. What’s nice about these ThunderCats DVDs is that they aren’t changing things around (although yes, the Cartoon Network is remaking the show), this DVD release is exactly what aired in the 80’s. And if you have any complaints, it can only be with your memory. And I don’t know about you, but I’m not ready to admit to any senility. And even though the hype of this series was a bit better in my head (perhaps because I liked My Little Ponies more, or because I’m a girl and this was geared towards males) it’s definitely something I want to force the younger generations I know to watch. And now I can! Mwahahah. I’m still working on my sales pitch, though: “You guys, they’re cats. But not wussy cats!”

Cuddle up on the couch with someone, make some Mac ‘N Cheese and Kool-Aid (whatever your childhood favorites were) and remember these glory days. ThunderCats were part of the days before bills, when 10 p.m. seemed late, and I’d never heard that carbs were bad to eat. These were blissful times! And there ain’t no rule that says I can’t hide in my bed on Saturday mornings and pretend that life is still that easy – at least for a little while. I bet there are plenty of doctors who could do studies (or have done studies) that can back up claims that reliving happy childhood moments like this is beneficial to your health. So go for it, and say that you have a doctor’s note if someone comes in and demands you turn on America’s Dancing with the Top Runway Bachelor Stars or whatever.

ThunderCats: The Original Series Season 1 Part 1 follows the heroic groups’ early adventures as they adopt Third Earth as their new home and encounter alien beings galore – some friendly, some looking for a fight! And while they brave their strange surroundings, their young leader Lion-O struggles with his new responsibilities as head of their foundling civilization. The result is more than four hours of classic cartoon thrills. – Via Press Release

Thundercats Theme Song and Opening on Video:

Thundercats Episodes:

Disc 1
1. Exodus
2. The Unholy Alliance
3. Berbils
4. The Slaves of Castle Plun-darr
5. Pumma-Ra
6. The Terror of Hammerhand

Disc 2

7. Trouble with Time
8. The Tower of Traps
9. The Garden of Delights
10. Mandora the Evil Chaser
11. The Ghost Warrior
12. The Doomgaze

Preorder the DVD on Amazon: HERE

ThunderCats, Ho!

Disclaimer: A DVD was sent for review.